We Have Three Convenient Office Locations In Northern Virginia   |   Manassas, Fairfax, and Warrenton

View Our Locations
The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC
2020 Recognized by Best Lawyers

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100
Manassas, VA 20110

The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC
2020 Recognized by Best Lawyers

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100 | Manassas, VA 20110

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are offering virtual consultations for all our existing and new clients. Call or Email or us to start the process, and we will schedule the initial consult to take place via Facetime, Skype, Zoom, Teams, or other services based on client needs.

Commitment To Clients, Commitment To Results
For more than 30 years, injury victims in Northern Virginia have placed their trust in The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC

First-time Virginia DUI offenders face further restrictions

Beginning this summer, Virginia will enact one of the strictest drunk driving penalties in the country. New laws will require the installation of an ignition-interlock device into the vehicles of first-time offenders. This prevents them from starting their vehicles until they breathe into the device.

The new restrictions form part of the continuing, comprehensive effort to crack down on drunk driving in Virginia. The effects of this risky practice are well known: accidents, injuries, permanent disabilities, medical expenses and even fatalities. As a result, the state is sending a stronger-than-ever message to residents: do not drink and drive, not even once.

However, some critics argue that the new ignition-interlock requirements go a little too far.

Virginia law already requires the device for repeat offenders or those with a blood alcohol content of .15 or higher at the time of their initial arrest. Like neighboring states Virginia’s threshold for DUI is .08.

When the new law goes into effect in July, it will raise the number of drivers required to use the device to about 18,000, or about four times as many as the current number. Drivers will also be required to pay for the installation of the apparatus themselves. The cost is more than $450 for an installation period of six months.

First-time offenders, as well as repeat offenders, must already pay several costly fees associated with a DUI conviction. The ignition-interlock device itself is also an intended hassle for motorists. In addition to breathing into the device each time they need to start their cars, drivers are also subject to random tests while on the road.

Source: The Washington Post, “Is Va.’s ignition-interlock rule for first-time DUI offenders too tough?” Justin Jouvenal, April 8, 2012.

Archives

FindLaw Network