We Have Three Convenient Office Locations In Northern Virginia   |   Manassas, Fairfax, and Warrenton

View Our Locations
The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC
2020 Recognized by Best Lawyers

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100
Manassas, VA 20110

The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC
2020 Recognized by Best Lawyers

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100 | Manassas, VA 20110

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are offering virtual consultations for all our existing and new clients. Call or Email or us to start the process, and we will schedule the initial consult to take place via Facetime, Skype, Zoom, Teams, or other services based on client needs.

Commitment To Clients, Commitment To Results
For more than 30 years, injury victims in Northern Virginia have placed their trust in The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC

Who is liable if a minor is driving drunk and has an accident?

Can the parents of an intoxicated minor be held liable if an accident occurs? The answer is yes. Parents are liable for the actions of their minor child. In other words, the parents may be sued by the victims of a drunk driving accident if their child was driving while impaired.

According to Virginia laws, there could be criminal charges if the parents knowingly allowed their minor child to consume alcohol. However, an adult does not need to be a parent to be held liable for the actions of minors who were under his or her control, such as at a party at the adults’ home. Adults may be held accountable and responsible if someone under their care gets drunk and:

— Damages property

— Drinks too much alcohol and dies

— Sexually assaults someone

— Gets into a physical altercations and hurts the other person

— Injuries or kills another person while driving after drinking

The parents may be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor that carries a punishment of up to a year in jail, as well as a fine of up to $2,500.

If you are injured in a drunk driving accident where the at-fault driver is a minor, you have a right to seek compensation from the minor’s parents or from the adults who gave your child alcohol. At The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC, we know that this won’t undo the suffering you have had to endure; however, a judgment in your favor can ease financial concerns you may have as a result of the accident.

Our experienced personal injury attorneys are ready to help you as you seek to hold those responsible for your accident accountable. We want you to learn more about drunk driving accidents by visiting our website.

Archives

FindLaw Network