We Have Three Convenient Office Locations In Northern Virginia   |   Manassas, Fairfax, and Warrenton

View Our Locations

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100
Manassas, VA 20110

Local: 703-659-1961
Toll-Free: 866-719-4394

CALL TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION
We Operate On A Contingency Fee Basis

9253 Mosby Street | Suite 100 | Manassas, VA 20110

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are offering virtual consultations for all our existing and new clients. Call or Email or us to start the process, and we will schedule the initial consult to take place via Facetime, Skype, Zoom, Teams, or other services based on client needs.

Commitment To Clients, Commitment To Results
For more than 30 years, injury victims in Northern Virginia have placed their trust in The Law Offices of Locklin & Coleman, PLLC

Speed limit laws in Virginia

It goes without saying that driving at excessive speeds can increase the chances of one being involved in a car accident in Manassas. The question is exactly how are excessive speeds determined. If you have been involved in a car accident where the issue of falt is at question, the driver suspected of causing it may point to the fact that they were not driving above the speed limit, and thus cannot be at fault. Many have come to us here at Lockin & Coleman, PLLC in a similar situation wondering how to combat such a claim. The answer lies in correctly interpreting the term “speed limit.” 

Far too many people view posted speed limits as the only authority in determining if one is driving too fast. Interestingly, the Virginia Department of Transportation states that the purpose of speed limits is twofold: to assist law enforcement officers in enforcing the law and to reduce wide variances in traffic speeds. You will notice how nowhere in that description does it say “to determine what is the safe speed at which to travel.” That is because it is expected that motorists will use good judgment and not drive faster than is safe in the given conditions. 

One need to only look at the state’s implied speed limits to understand what is deemed to be safe. According to the state DOT, they are: 

  • 25 mph in business and residential neighborhoods
  • 35 mph on unpaved roads
  • 55 mph on state routes numbered 600 or higher (45 mph for large trucks)

These speeds can help offer an idea as to whether the person who hit you was traveling at an unsafe speed. More information on assigning liability for your car accident can be found throughout our site. 

Archives

Attorneys Img
FindLaw Network